Waiting for Warmer Days . . .

It is almost the end of May and I have not thrown one pot!  It has been unusually cold and wet here this spring.  While waiting for warmer weather, I have been working on a new project inspired by our Grandson’s love of trains and Eric Carle’s book 1, 2, 3 to the Zoo1, 2, 3 to the Zoo was Eric Carle’s first book published in 1968.  It is a beautifully illustrated wordless counting book. “Bright pictures tell the story: each car on the train has one more zoo animal than the one before it, and all arrive happily at the zoo in a dramatic foldout finale.” 

I came across Crafts Are My Prozac in my search for Eric Carle prints which then led me directly to our local craft store to purchase materials for this cute and easy Mod Podge project!

 

MATERIALS:

  • Eric Carle Decortive Prints: A book of 12 full color 12 x 16 prints from Eric Carle’s beloved books (simply do an internet search for this book)
  • 16 x 20 Stretched Canvas
  • Mod Podge Matte finish
  • 2 inch Sponge brush
  • a clean shallow container for Mod Podge (because the 2 inch brush didn’t fit inside the mouth of the Mod Podge jar)
  • poster board or large sheet of paper to be used as a template
  • Pencil, ruler, rotary cutter or scissors
  • clean work surface (using blue paint tape, I taped white butcher paper to the work space to insure a clean work surface)
  • picture hanging hardware (saw tooth, nail, hook)

Though the print is 12 x 16, I wanted extra space around the train so I went with a 16 x 20 stretched canvas.  Centering and bottom weighting the print onto the canvas was going to take some extra effort.  (A bottom weighted picture is one in which the bottom margin is wider than the other three sides.)

I cut out a template that was 1/2 inch smaller than the original print.

I cut out a template that was 1/2 inch smaller than the original print.

I laid the template on top of the canvas. I wanted the bottom margin wider than the other three sides to bottom weight the image. After measuring each side several times, I lightly penciled around the template.

I laid the template on top of the canvas. I wanted the bottom margin wider than the other three sides to bottom weight the image. After measuring each side several times, I lightly penciled around the template. Within the marked area is where I painted on the Mod Podge.

I covered the marked area of the canvass with Mod Podge then covered the back of the print with Mod Podge then placed the print on top of the glued area of the canvas smoothing the print with my hand.

Next, I covered the back of the print with Mod Podge then placed the print on top of the marked Mod Podged area of the canvas smoothing the print with my hand.

The print edges curled up. Blah blah blah blah suggested placing the canvas face down on to wax paper and put books on top.

The print edges curled up.

Blah blah blah had a great suggestion. She placed the canvas face down on to wax paper . . .

Elizabeth, of Crafts Are My Prozac, shared a great solution for the curled edges.  She placed the canvas face down onto wax paper . . .

. . . then placed books on top. After the Mod Podge has dried (20 to 30 minutes), the canvas and print are now ready for a thin coat of Mod Podge.

. . . then placed books on top. After the Mod Podge has dried (20 to 30 minutes), the canvas and print are now ready for a thin coat of Mod Podge BUT first I needed to take care of two air bubbles that appeared under the print!

An air bubble or two may surface. I had two show up! Wait until the Mod Podge is completely dry. Place the canvas onto the wax paper print side down. With a metal ruler scrape over the air bubble area. Place books on top. Let set over night.

To take care of a dreaded air bubble wait until the Mod Podge is completely dry. Place the canvas onto new wax paper print side down. With a metal ruler scrape over the air bubble area. Place books on top. Let set over night. No more air bubble! Now the print and canvas are ready for a coat of Mod Podge.

Using a sponge brush, I applied a thin coat of Mod Podge to the canvas and print from top to bottom.

Using a sponge brush, I applied a thin coat of Mod Podge to the canvas and print from top to bottom. Let dry then apply a second coat.  After it has dried, add picture hanger hardware.  I used a saw tooth hanger on the canvas with picture hanger hook and nail on the wall. 

The final product after two coats of Mod Podge.

The final product after two coats of Mod Podge.

Hopefully warmer weather will be here soon!  In the mean time, I’m looking for other things to Mod Podge!

Leave a reply.

