There’s Blue, blue and blue

There's blue, blue and blue.

left to right: Smokey, Storm Blue,  Rustic Blue, Stoneware Blue and ???

As you can see in the picture above, my favorite blue glaze can exhibit a wide range of blues depending on how thick or thin I glaze my pieces.  The range of blues also depends on the temperature in the kiln; one result at cone 5 (2118 degrees F), another at cone 6 (2650 degrees F).  And then there is the occasional kiln snafu which results in something entirely different!

Though all the results are equally lovely, I’m running out of names for each blue color that comes out of the kiln!  I either need to be more consistent in my glazing and firing of my pieces OR quickly come up with more names for the various shades of blue!

Leave a reply.

